Prize for Freedom/Prix pour la liberté 2016 – Liberal International

Prize for Freedom/Prix pour la liberté 2016 – Liberal International

Posted: 5th December 2016 By: Evelyne Abitbol Category: News Comment: 0


Will be present President of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE) Group in the European Parliament, Mr. Guy Verhofstadt MEP, who is also the former Prime Minister of Belgium.

En présence de nombreux dignitaires dont le président de l’Alliance des Libéraux et Démocrates d’Europe, ancien Premier ministre de la Belgique, Mr. Guy Verhofstadt MEP, /

Ensaf Haidar, author and wife of Raif Badawi, president and cofounder of the foundation * to receive Liberal International’s Prize for Freedom

Ensaf Haidar, auteure et femme de Raif Badawi, présidente et cofondatrice de la fondation recevra le Prix Libéral International pour la liberté.

Raif Badawi was flogged in public 50 times in January 2016. He has 950 lashes and nearly a decade in prison left to serve – simply for blogging about free speech. His incarceration and sentencing has drawn international condemnation from human rights organisations around the world including Amnesty International.


Ensaf Haidar – wife of imprisoned Saudi blogger, Raif Badawi, président and cofounder of the foundation


Ensaf Haidar will receive the Liberal International’s 2016 Prize for Freedom on behalf of her husband Raif Badawi.

Ms. Haidar will deliver a short acceptance speech and there will be a possibility for interviews with interested media from approximately 14:00. Journalists requesting interviews should contact William Townsend in advance (details above).


Room ASP 5G1

European Parliament, Brussels/ Parlement européen à Bruxelles


Tuesday 6th December 2016 – Mardi 6 décembre 2016

13:40 – Prize awarding – remise du prix

14:00 – Interviews (by request) – Interviews individuelles

For Interviews/ pour les entrevues contactez 

To discuss the possibility of interviewing Ms. Haidar, please contact William Townsend on William@liberal-international.org or +44 (0)207 839 5905

Note to editors:

–          *Raif Badawi He was arrested in 2012 on a charge of insulting Islam through electronic channels and brought to court on several charges including apostasy. He was sentenced to seven years in prison and 600 lashes in 2013, then resentenced to 1,000 lashes and ten years in prison plus a fine in 2014. The lashes were to be carried out over 20 weeks.

Pour en connaître davantage sur Raif Badawi consultez la page qui lui est consacrée.

En anglais: http://www.raifbadawifoundation.org/about-raif-badawi/

En français: http://www.fondationraifbadawi.org/raif-badawi-histoire/

–          Previous recipients of the LI Prize for Freedom include Aung San Suu Kyi (Burma/Myanmar) , Benazir Bhutto (Pakistan), and Waris Dirie (Somalia). A full list, dating back to 1986, can be found here.

Les précédents récipiendaires du Prix pour la liberté sont Aung San Suu Kyi (Burma/Myanmar) , Benazir Bhutto (Pakistan), and Waris Dirie (Somalia). Une liste complète qui retourne jusqu’en 1986 ici. 

–          Liberal International (LI) is the world federation of over 100 liberal and progressive democratic political parties and affiliates. LI was founded in 1947 to strengthen liberal protection from totalitarianism and communism. It is the only one of the major political internationals with a dedicated human rights committee that actively participates in the working mechanism of the United Nations Human Rights Council.

Libéral Liberal International (LI) est une fédération mondiale qui comprend  plus de 100 partis politiques et affiliés libéraux et progressistes. LI a été fondée en 1947 pour renforcer la protection libérale contre le totalitarisme et le communisme. C’est le seul des grands organismes politiques internationaux qui comprend dans son organisation un comité des droits de l’homme et qui participe activement aux mécanismes de travaux du Conseil des droits de l’homme des Nations Unies.


Share this post

Leave a Comment